ALL STARS CHALLENGE: ASIA BEAT EUROPE



At the Euro-Asia All Stars Challenge in Nantong, China, the Asian selection has lived up to its role as a favorite. After a clear 4-1 victory on Saturday, the team around superstar Zhang Jike also won the second duel on Sunday. TTBL star Bastian Steger contributed one of the three European points, Kristian Karlsson came away empty-handed.

Bastian Steger

One win, one loss: Bastian Steger (Photo: ITTF)

Just as expected, Europe lost the 13th edition of the Euro-Asia All Stars Challenge. After two competition days in Nantong, China, the Old Continent led by the Portuguese Marcos Freitas was defeated 3-7 by Asian superstar Zhang Jike and his team. Europe's success from 2015 remains the only one for the time being.

With Düsseldorf's Kristian Karlsson and Bremen's Bastian Steger, two players from the Tischtennis Bundesliga (TTBL) had made the leap into Europe's selection, but were unable to prevent the defeat of their continent. In his opening match on Saturday, Karlsson was beaten by Hong Kong-Chinese Wong Chun Ting (0-3), Steger was defeated by Zhang just as clearly. Freitas provided the only European point with a 3-1 success against the South Korean Lee Sangsu.

At least for Steger, however, the clash of the continents ended with a sense of achievement. At the beginning of the second day of the competition, the 37-year-old beat Japan's Koki Niwa 3-1 with a good performance and afterwards told the German Table Tennis Association (DTTB): "It is great, of course, to have been nominated for the All Stars Challenge. These were very nice impressions. So I'm all the more pleased that I played very well in my first duel with Niwa and also contributed a point for Europe."

Europe's second point of the day was made by Belarus's Vladimir Samsonov, who defeated Taiwan's No. 1 Chuang Chih-Yuan 3-0. Previously, however, the two narrow defeats of Freitas (2-3 against Wong) and former Fulda player Jonathan Groth (2-3 against Zhang) as well as the 0-3 loss of Karlsson against Lee had already sealed the defeat of the European selection. "Asia deserved to win, they are just a bit better than we are, although we could have decided one or another close match for us," said Steger.

The All Stars Challenge at a glance

Asien – Europa 7-3

Samstag- Asien – Europa 4-1 
Koki Niwa JPN – Vladimir Samsonov BLR 3-2 (11-4, 11-8, 9-11, 6-11, 11-9)
Chuang Chih-Yuan TPE – Jonathan Groth DEN 3-2 (14-12, 11-9, 7-11, 9-11, 11-6)
Wong Chun Ting HKG – Kristian Karlsson SWE 3-0 (14-12, 11-4, 11-7)
Lee Sangsu KOR – Marcos Freitas POR 1-3 (9-11, 12-10, 7-11, 9-11)
Zhang Jike CHN – Bastian Steger GER 3-0 (11-2, 11-4, 14-12)

Sonntag- Asien – Europa 3-2
Koki Niwa JPN – Bastian Steger GER 1-3 (8-11, 11-8, 9-11, 7-11)
Zhang Jike CHN – Jonathan Groth DEN 3-2 (8-11, 11-8, 9-11, 11-6, 11-7)
Lee Sangsu KOR – Kristian Karlsson SWE 3-0 (11-5, 14-12, 11-4)
Wong Chun Ting HKG – Marcos Freitas POR 3-2 (11-4, 12-10, 2-11, 7-11, 12-10)
Chuang Chih-Yuan TPE – Vladimir Samsonov BLR 0-3 (8-11, 10-12, 7-11)

Header photo: ITTF

ALL STARS CHALLENGE: ASIEN BEZWINGT EUROPA



Bei der Euro-Asia All Stars Challenge im chinesischen Nantong ist die asiatische Auswahl ihrer Favoritenrolle gerecht geworden. Nach einem deutlichen 4:1-Erfolg am Samstag, entschied die Mannschaft um Superstar Zhang Jike auch das zweite Duell am gestrigen Sonntag für sich. Einen der insgesamt drei europäischen Punkte steuerte TTBL-Star Bastian Steger bei, Kristian Karlsson ging leer aus.

Bastian Steger

Ein Sieg, eine Niederlage: Bastian Steger (Foto: ITTF)

Europa hat bei der 13. Auflage der Euro-Asia All Stars Challenge erwartungsgemäß den Kürzeren gezogen. Der vom Portugiesen Marcos Freitas angeführte Alte Kontinent unterlag der asiatischen Auswahl um Chinas Superstar Zhang Jike am Wochenende nach zwei Wettkampftagen im chinesischen Nantong mit 3:7. Europas Erfolg aus dem Jahr 2015 bleibt damit vorerst der einzige.

Mit Düsseldorfs Kristian Karlsson und Bremens Bastian Steger hatten zwei Akteure aus der Tischtennis Bundesliga (TTBL) den Sprung in die Auswahl geschafft, die Niederlage ihres Kontinents jedoch nicht verhindern können. Karlsson musste sich in seinem Auftaktmatch am Samstag dem Hongkong-Chinesen Wong Chun Ting geschlagen geben (0:3), Steger unterlag Zhang ebenso so deutlich. Für den einzigen europäischen Tagespunkt sorgte Freitas mit einem 3:1-Erfolg über den Südkoreaner Lee Sangsu.

Zumindest für Steger endete der Kampf der Kontinente jedoch mit einem Erfolgserlebnis. Zu Beginn des zweiten Wettkampftages schlug der 37-Jährige den Japaner Koki Niwa nach einer guten Leistung mit 3:1 und gab gegenüber dem Deutschen Tischtennis-Bund (DTTB) hinterher zu Protokoll: „Es ist natürlich toll, für die All Stars Challenge nominiert gewesen zu sein. Das waren sehr schöne Eindrücke. Umso mehr freut es mich, dass ich außerdem in meinem ersten Duell mit Niwa überhaupt sehr gut gespielt habe und auch einen Punkt für Europa beisteuern konnte.“

Den zweiten Punkt des Tages steuerte zum Abschluss des Vergleichs Vladimir Samsonov aus Weißrussland bei, indem er Taiwans Nummer eins Chuang Chih-Yuan mit 3:0 bezwang. Zuvor hatten die beiden knappen Niederlagen von Freitas (2:3 gegen Wong) und dem ehemaligen Fuldaer Jonathan Groth (2:3 gegen Zhang) sowie die 0:3-Pleite von Karlsson gegen Lee die Niederlage der europäischen Auswahl jedoch bereits besiegelt. „Asien hat verdient gewonnen, sie sind eben auch das Stückchen besser als wir, obwohl wir auch noch das eine oder knappe Spiel für uns hätten entscheiden können“, resümierte Steger.

Die All Stars Challenge in der Übersicht

Asien – Europa 7:3

Samstag: Asien – Europa 4:1 
Koki Niwa JPN – Vladimir Samsonov BLR 3:2 (11:4, 11:8, 9:11, 6:11, 11:9)
Chuang Chih-Yuan TPE – Jonathan Groth DEN 3:2 (14:12, 11:9, 7:11, 9:11, 11:6)
Wong Chun Ting HKG – Kristian Karlsson SWE 3:0 (14:12, 11:4, 11:7)
Lee Sangsu KOR – Marcos Freitas POR 1:3 (9:11, 12:10, 7:11, 9:11)
Zhang Jike CHN – Bastian Steger GER 3:0 (11:2, 11:4, 14:12)

Sonntag: Asien – Europa 3:2
Koki Niwa JPN – Bastian Steger GER 1:3 (8:11, 11:8, 9:11, 7:11)
Zhang Jike CHN – Jonathan Groth DEN 3:2 (8:11, 11:8, 9:11, 11:6, 11:7)
Lee Sangsu KOR – Kristian Karlsson SWE 3:0 (11:5, 14:12, 11:4)
Wong Chun Ting HKG – Marcos Freitas POR 3:2 (11:4, 12:10, 2:11, 7:11, 12:10)
Chuang Chih-Yuan TPE – Vladimir Samsonov BLR 0:3 (8:11, 10:12, 7:11)

Beitragsbild: ITTF