THESE STARS ARE COMING



A lot has happened on the transfer market for the upcoming season in the Tischtennis Bundesliga (TTBL), numerous clubs have strengthened – and some of them quite prominently. The most shining new signings in a short portrait.

Tomislav Pucar: When it was clear that Jonathan Groth will leave the club to Russia, TTC RhönSprudel Fulda-Maberzell had to look for a replacement – and found one in Tomislav Pucar. The 22-year-old Croatian has been active in the Polish Superliga recently and was crowned Under 21 European Champion last year. In the doubles competition, Pucar also secured the silver medal. Last but not least, this is what made Pucar interesting for Fulda, as president Stefan Frauenholz explained: "Tomislav is an excellent doubles player. This is especially important for the new season." In the ITTF world ranking, Pucar ranks 86th in June.

Jang Woojin

About to serve in the TTBL: Jang Woojin (Foto: ITTF)

Jang Woojin: With the signing of the South Korean, TTF Liebherr Ochsenhausen managed a real coup shortly before the end of the official transfer period. The 23-year-old Junior World Champion of 2013 already practised at Liebherr Masters College in Ochsenhausen in student times, which is why the contact with the club's management has never broken off. "It was a dream of mine to come back one day, to improve myself in Ochsenhausen and to give something back to the club," said the world ranking 34th. TTF president Kristijan Pejinovic, whose team has already been complete after the signing of Stefan Fegerl, was pleased, too: "Jang has a huge potential. We are very happy that he returns to Ochsenhausen."

Liao Cheng-Ting: 1. FC Saarbrücken TT, too, was looking for a strong new player in Asia, but only had to look for one in Sweden, since Liao Cheng-Ting has been playing for BTK Kävlinge in the so-called Pingisligan, the first Swedish league. The only 22-year-old Taiwanese should replace the Portuguese Tiago Apolonia in Saarbrücken. Erwin Berg, Sports Director of the Saarlanders, is sure to have signed a good man: "Liao will rejuvenate our team once again and is highly motivated to present himself in the TTBL." In addition, Liao is said to get along well with Patrick Franziska, with whom he already practised in Saarbrücken before his official engagement in Germany.

Gustavo Tsuboi: With Gustavo Tsuboi, an old acquaintance returns to the Tischtennis Bundesliga (TTBL) in the upcoming season. The Brazilian played two years for TTC Schwalbe Bergneustadt in Germany's top division between 2014 and 2016, but then transfered to Poland. Now he is to replace SV Werder Bremen's Egyptian Omar Assar, who leaves the North Germans after one year and joins Borussia Düsseldorf. For coach Cristian Tamas, the replacement could hardly have turned out better. "Gustavo Tsuboi is a double specialist, a left-hander, a team player and will move to Bremen," rejoiced the Werder coach in February. Internationally, the experienced Tsuboi is often seen alongside his compatriot Hugo Calderano, and the ITTF is currently ranking the 33-year-old on position 45.

Paul Drinkhall: The Englishman is no stranger to the TTBL either. In Germany, the 28-year-old already played for Gönnern, Jülich and Plüderhausen and was last active in Bremen from 2012 to 2014. Now Drinkhall is to reinforce another Bundesligist: The World Championship bronze medalist of 2016 with the English team received a one-year contract at TTC Schwalbe Bergneustadt – much to the delight of manager Heinz Duda, who has found an excellent substitute for Steffen Mengel. "Paul is an emotional player who can inspire and thrill his teammates," said Duda.

Sathiyan Gnanasekaran: In India, Gnanasekaran is already a superstar, now he wants to become on in the TTBL as well. In his new club however, the 25-year-old is following in big footsteps, since at ASV Grünwettersbach he is to replace the Japanese Masataka Morizono – someone who is said to be irreplaceable. ASV coach Rade Markovic still relies on the qualities of the world ranking 44th: "With 'Sathi' we were able to sign a player who showed consistently good performances last year and can be dangerous for any opponent in the TTBL." Most recently, Gnanasekaran was active in the Polish Superleague, this summer he will play in the new Indian league Ultimate Table Tennis again.

Header photo: ITTF

DIESE STARS KOMMEN



Auf dem Transfermarkt hat sich für die kommende Saison in der Tischtennis Bundesliga (TTBL) einiges getan, zahlreiche Klubs haben sich verstärkt – und das zum Teil recht namhaft. Die prominentesten Neuzugänge im Kurzporträt.

Tomislav Pucar: Als klar war, dass Jonathan Groth den Verein in Richtung Russland verlässt, musste sich der TTC RhönSprudel Fulda-Maberzell nach einem Ersatz umsehen – und wurde in Tomislav Pucar fündig. Der 22 Jahre alte Kroate war bislang in der polnischen Superliga aktiv und wurde im vergangenen Jahr im russischen Sotschi U21-Europameister im Einzel. In der Doppel-Konkurrenz sicherte sich Pucar zudem die Silbermedaille. Nicht zuletzt dieser Umstand machte Pucar für Fulda interessant, wie Präsident Stefan Frauenholz erklärte: „Tomislav ist ein hervorragender Doppelspieler. Das ist besonders wichtig im Hinblick auf die neue Saison.“ In der Weltrangliste rangiert Pucar im Monat Juni auf Rang 86.

Jang Woojin

Schlägt in der neuen Saison in der TTBL auf: Jang Woojin (Foto: ITTF)

Jang Woojin: Mit der Verpflichtung des Südkoreaners gelang den TTF Liebherr Ochsenhausen kurz vor dem Ende der offiziellen Wechselfrist ein echter Coup. Der 23-Jährige Jugendweltmeister von 2013 trainierte bereits zu Schülerzeiten am Liebherr Masters College in Ochsenhausen, weshalb der Kontakt zur Vereinsführung nie abgerissen sei. „Es war ein Traum von mir, eines Tages zurückzukommen, mich in Ochsenhausen weiter zu verbessern und dem Verein etwas zurückzugeben“, so der Weltranglisten-34. selbst. Groß war die Freude auch bei TTF-Präsident Kristijan Pejinovic, der seinen Kader nach der Verpflichtung von Stefan Fegerl eigentlich schon zusammen hatte. „Jang verfügt über ein riesengroßes Potenzial. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass er nach Ochsenhausen zurückkehrt.“

Liao Cheng-Ting: Auch der 1. FC Saarbrücken TT wurde auf der Suche nach einem spielstarken Neuzugang in Asien fündig, musste dafür allerdings nur nach Schweden blicken. Denn dort schlug Liao Cheng-Ting bis zuletzt für BTK Kävlinge in der sogenannten Pingisligan, der 1. schwedischen Liga auf. Der erst 22-jährige Taiwaner soll in Saarbrücken den Portugiesen Tiago Apolonia ersetzen. Erwin Berg, Sportlicher Leiter der Saarländer, ist sich sicher, einen guten Mann geholt zu haben: „Liao wird unsere Mannschaft noch einmal verjüngen und ist hochmotiviert, sich in der TTBL zu präsentieren.“ Zudem soll sich Liao gut mit Patrick Franziska verstehen, mit dem er vor seiner Verpflichtung bereits in Saarbrücken trainierte.

Gustavo Tsuboi: Mit Gustavo Tsuboi kehrt zur neuen Spielzeit ein alter Bekannter zurück in die Tischtennis Bundesliga (TTBL). Der Brasilianer spielte zwischen 2014 und 2016 zwei Jahre für den TTC Schwalbe Bergneustadt in Deutschlands höchster Spielklasse, wechselte dann jedoch nach Polen. Nun soll er beim SV Werder Bremen den Ägypter Omar Assar ersetzen, der die Norddeutschen nach einem Jahr wieder verlässt und sich Borussia Düsseldorf anschließt. Für Trainer Cristian Tamas hätte der Ersatz kaum besser ausfallen können „Gustavo Tsuboi ist Doppelspezialist, Linkshänder, Teamplayer und wird nach Bremen ziehen“, freute sich der Werder-Coach im Februar. International sieht man den erfahrenen Tsuboi häufig an der Seite seines Landsmanns Hugo Calderano, die ITTF führt den 33-Jährigen derzeit auf Weltranglistenposition 45.

Paul Drinkhall: Auch der Engländer ist in der TTBL kein Unbekannter. In Deutschland spielte der 28-Jährige bereits für Gönnern, Jülich und Plüderhausen und war zuletzt von 2012 bis 2014 in Bremen aktiv. Nun soll Drinkhall allerdings einen anderen Bundesligisten verstärken: Der WM-Bronze-Gewinner von 2016 mit der englischen Mannschaft erhielt beim TTC Schwalbe Bergneustadt einen Einjahresvertrag – sehr zur Freude von Manager Heinz Duda, der damit exzellenten Ersatz für Steffen Mengel gefunden hat. „Paul ist ein emotionaler Spieler, der begeistern und seine Teamkollegen mitreißen kann“, so Duda. 

Sathiyan Gnanasekaran: In seiner Heimat Indien ist Gnanasekaran bereits ein Superstar, nun will er es auch in der TTBL werden. Bei seinem neuen Verein tritt der 25-Jährige allerdings in große Fußstapfen. Denn beim ASV Grünwettersbach soll er mit dem Japaner Masataka Morizono jemanden ersetzen, der eigentlich gar nicht zu ersetzen ist. ASV-Trainer Rade Markovic setzt dennoch auf die Qualitäten des Weltranglisten-44.: „Mit ‚Sathi‘ konnten wir einen Spieler verpflichten, der im vergangenen Jahr konstant gute Leistungen gezeigt hat und auch in der TTBL für jeden Gegner gefährlich sein kann.“ Bis zuletzt war Gnanasekaran in der polnischen Superliga aktiv, diesen Sommer wird er wie im Vorjahr erneut in der neuen indischen Liga Ultimate Table Tennis aufschlagen.

Eine Übersicht über alle Transfers der neuen Saison finden Sie hier.

Beitragsbild oben: ITTF