NEW IN THE TTBL: SATHIYAN GNANASEKARAN



In the current season, which officially started on July 1, there are many new faces in the Tischtennis Bundesliga (TTBL). In a small series, we introduce the newcomers in more detail. In this part we turn to Sathiyan Gnanasekaran from ASV Grünwettersbach.

Sathiyan Gnanasekaran

Focussed: Sathiyan Gnanasekaran (Photo: ITTF)

Sathiyan Gnanasekaran is a real superstar. So far, this sentence only applies to his home country India, where he is the face of a sheer table tennis boom, which has been given a tremendous boost with the professional league called Ultimate Table Tennis (UTT). But that should change, as the ambitious goal of the project is an Olympic medal for India by 2024. And Gnanasekaran is clearly one of the candidates.

In the new season of the Tischtennis Bundesliga (TTBL), the 25-year-old plays for ASV Grünwettersbach – and thus takes the next step on the career ladder. Internationally, he has long arrived in the top 50 in the world and reached a new personal best in the ITTF world ranking with place 39 in August. Not bad for someone who came to table tennis by accident, as Gnanasekaran recently told the sports website Sportskeeda. "My mom just wanted to put me in any individual sport and TT centre had just started close to my house in 1998." And so Ganasekaran's career took off.

In 2016, he celebrated his first international title winning the Belgium Open. Back then, he earned his money in Germany at TSG Kaiserslautern in the Regionalliga, where he was obviously under-challenged (record: 16-1). The triumph at the Belgium Open was only the second victory of an Indian on the ITTF World Tour (see video). Before him, only Kamal Achanta was able to win one of the ITTF tournaments. The graduated engineer attributed his success to his father, who died in November 2015. "After he passed away, his dream to see me a successful table tennis player was my biggest motivation to start training again." Before each game, he still prays to his father, who was also his biggest fan.

"The beginning of a new era"

Another World Tour title should follow, this time at the Spanish Open in November 2017, when he was already in the top 100 in the world (88th). Earlier that year, he had finished the debut season of UTT without a single loss. In April 2018, Gnanasekaran was part of the Indian delegation at the Commonwealth Games in Australia and secured three medals: gold with the team, silver in doubles and bronze in mixed. Overall, the Indian team won eight medals. "It was amazing and we had put a great show", said Gnanasekaran to Sportskeeda. "I feel it is the beginning of a new era and it is only upwards from here in Table Tennis."

It certainly was for him. In early July, Gnanasekaran was the captain of the Dabang Smashers in the second season of Ultimate Table Tennis and won the title, at the Australian Open last week, he made his way into the round of 16 – despite beeing a qualifier. His next goal are the Asian Games (August 18 to September 2) – and of course a successful season with Grünwettersbach. There, the anticipation should already be on the rise.

Header photo: ITTF

NEU IN DER TTBL: SATHIYAN GNANASEKARAN



In der aktuellen Saison, die bereits am 1. Juli offiziell begann, tummeln sich in der Tischtennis Bundesliga (TTBL) viele neue Gesichter. In einer kleinen Serie stellen wir die Liga-Neulinge noch einmal genauer vor. In diesem Teil ist Sathiyan Gnanasekaran vom ASV Grünwettersbach an der Reihe.

Sathiyan Gnanasekaran

Fokussiert: Sathiyan Gnanasekaran (Foto: ITTF)

Sathiyan Gnanasekaran ist ein echter Superstar. Bisher gilt dieser Satz nur für sein Heimatland Indien, wo er das Gesicht eines regelrechten Tischtennis-Booms ist, der mit der 2017 gegründeten Profiliga Ultimate Table Tennis (UTT) einen enormen Schub bekommen hat. Doch das soll sich ändern. Denn das ehrgeizige Ziel des Projekts lautet: eine Olympische Medaille für Indien bis 2024. Gnanasekaran ist einer der Kandidaten.

In der neuen Saison der Tischtennis Bundesliga (TTBL) schlägt der 25-Jährige für den ASV Grünwettersbach auf – und macht damit den nächsten Schritt auf der Karriereleiter. International ist er längst in den Top 50 der Welt angekommen und erreichte im August mit Platz 39 einen neuen persönlichen Bestwert in der ITTF Weltrangliste. Nicht schlecht für jemanden, der rein zufällig zum Tischtennis kam, wie Gnanasekaran kürzlich dem Sportportal Sportskeeda erzählte. „Meine Mutter wollte lediglich, dass ich irgendeine Individualsportart anfange. Und nahe unserem Haus wurde gerade ein Tischtenniszentrum eröffnet.“ Und so nahm Ganasekarans Karriere 1998 seinen Lauf.

Seinen ersten internationalen Titel feierte Gnanasekaran 2016, als er die Belgium Open gewinnen konnte. Sein Geld verdiente er damals übrigens in Deutschland beim TSG Kaiserlautern in der Regionalliga, in der er allerdings unterfordert war (Bilanz: 16:1). Der Triumph bei den Belgium Open war erst der zweite Sieg eines Inders auf der ITTF World Tour, entsprechend groß die Freude (s. Video). Vor ihm war dies nur Kamal Achanta gelungen. Seinen Erfolg schrieb der studierte Ingenieur damals vor allem seinem Vater zu, der im November 2015 verstorben war. „Nach seinem Tod war sein Traum, mich als erfolgreichen Tischtennisspieler zu sehen, meine größte Motivation, wieder mit dem Training zu beginnen.“ Noch heute bete er vor jedem Spiel zu seinem Vater, der zugleich sein größter Fan war.

„Beginn einer neuen Ära“

Ein weiterer World-Tour-Titel sollte folgen, diesmal bei den Spanish Open im November 2017, als er bereits in die Top 100 der Welt vorgestoßen war (88.). Im Sommer zuvor hatte er die Premierensaison der UTT ohne Niederlage beendet. Im April 2018 was Gnanasekaran Teil der indischen Auswahl bei den Commonwealth Games in Australien und sicherte sich gleich drei Medaillen: Gold mit der Mannschaft, Silber im Doppel und Bronze im Mixed. Insgesamt gewann das indische Team achtmal Edelmetall. „Es war fantastisch und wir haben eine tolle Show abgeliefert“, so Gnanasekaran gegenüber Sportskeeda. „Ich glaube, das ist der Beginn einer neuen Ära und es kann von hier aus nur aufwärts gehen.“

Tat es auch. Anfang Juli gewann Gnanasekaran als Kapitän der Dabang Smashers die zweite Auflage von Ultimate Table Tennis, bei den Australian Open vor einer Woche stieß er als Qualifikant bis ins Achtelfinale vor. Nächstes Ziel sind die Asian Games (18. August bis 2. September) – und natürlich eine erfolgreiche Saison mit Grünwettersbach. Dort dürfte die Vorfreude auf den jungen Inder bereits groß sein.

Beitragsbild oben: ITTF