TTCLM: GERMAN TEAMS STILL ON COURSE



1. FC Saarbrücken TT beat Chartres ASTT in straight matches, win their third group match of Table Tennis Champions League Men (TTCLM) and are now close to the quarterfinals. TTF Liebherr Ochsenhausen and Borussia Düsseldorf secure important wins, too.

Tiago Apolonia

First win ever against Pär Gerell: Tiago Apolonia (Foto: BeLa Sportfoto)

1. FC Saarbrücken TT made a big step towards the quarterfinals with a straight win against Chartres ASTT. In the third group match of Table Tennis Champions League Men (TTBL), the team of coach Slobodan Grujic won 3-0 in France .

"That was a very important win for us today," said Saarbrücken's press spokesman Nicolas Barrois. "The height, however, is certainly surprising." This was ensured right at the beginning by Bojan Tokic, who gave the Austrian Robert Gardos no chance. A good performance was also shown by Patrick Baum, who has been absent for a long time and joined the team replacing Patrick Franziska, against Romain Lorentz. Franziska was spared for the upcoming top match against Ochsenhausen by coach Grujic after the intense previous weeks.

After the break, the Portuguese Tiago Apolonia secured a very special win for Saarbrücken and for himself, as Barrois revealed. "Pär Gerell is a good friend of Tiago, whom he has never won against. Today it finally worked. All in all, this was a very good team performance!"

Düsseldorf has to suffer again

Anton Källberg

Points against Roskilde: Anton Källberg (Photo: MaJo-Foto)

Last year's finalist Borussia Düsseldorf's job this evening was much more difficult than Saarbrücken's – in spite of a stellar start against Roskilde Bordtennis BTK61 from Denmark. After Kristian Karlsson narrowly defeated ex-Borussia player Michael Maze in a 3-2 victory, Anton Källberg extended the lead to 2-0 against Zhai Yujia. However, Stefan Fegerl could not live up to the performance of his Swedish team mates and was defeated by the Dutchman Laurens Tromer in five games. "The team victory outshines my personal disappointment. That makes it a little easier, "said crestfallen Fegerl.

In the the fourth encounter against Zhai, Karlsson had to give in after four games. But on Källberg, however, his team could rely once again: The 20-year-old was already down 1-2 against Maze, when he eventually turned the tables and brought Düssseldorf the long-awaited second victory in the third TTCLM match. "That was a great performance by Anton," cheered Borussia's coach Danny Heister, who had to deal with Timo Boll missing at short notice. "He played very well in the closing stages of his match and the spectators literally cheered him to victory."

Gauzy makes the difference

Simon Gauzy

Matchwinner agianst Wels: Simon Gauzy (Photo: Roscher)

TTF Liebherr Ochsenhausen had to fight too against SPG Walter Wels, whose top player Cho Seungmin proved to be just as dangerous as expected in advance. After the quick lead by Simon Gauzy, the South Korean secured the 1-1 equalizer against re-convalesced Jakub Dyjas and was about to equalize again against Gauzy. But Ochsenhausen' French number one was able to fend off the Cho's match point and score the point on his side. Previously, Yuto Muramatsu also prevailed in five games against Zsolt Petö.

Ochsenhausen now lead their group unchallenged, just as Saarbrücken do in theirs. Dusseldorf is now on position two level on points with Hennebont. The second leg begins  on November 22 for Ochsenhausen and on November 24 for Saarbrücken and Düsseldorf.

Match overview

Chartres ASTT – 1. FC Saarbrücken TT 0:3
Robert Gardos – Bojan Tokic 0:3 (11:9, 11:5, 11:4)
Romain Lorentz – Patrick Baum 1:3 (7:11, 5:11, 11:9, 7:11)
Pär Gerell – Tiago Apolonia 1:3 (11:7, 11:13, 8:11, 7:11)

Borussia Düsseldorf – Roskilde Bordtennis BTK61 3:2
Kristian Karlsson – Michael Maze 3:2 (8:11, 11:8, 11:6, 8:11, 11:5)
Anton Källberg – Zhai Yujia 3:0 (13:11, 13:11, 11:8)
Stefan Fegerl – Laurens Tromer 2:3 (11:9, 8:11, 6:11, 11:5, 8:11)
Kristian Karlsson – Zhai Yujia 1:3 (11:6, 8:11, 8:11, 11:13)
Anton Källberg – Michael Maze 3:2 (11:9, 2:11, 8:11, 11:6)

TTF Liebherr Ochsenhausen – SPG Walter Wels 3:1
Simon Gauzy – Robin Devos 3:0 (11:3, 11:8, 8:7)
Jakub Dyjas – Cho Seungmin 1:3 (11:5, 13:15, 7:11, 9:11)
Yuto Muramatsu – Zsolt Petö 3:2 (8:11, 11:8, 11:6, 9:11, 11:4)
Simon Gauzy – Cho Seungmin 3:2 (7:11, 11:4, 11:13, 11:6, 12:10)

TTCLM: DEUTSCHE TEAMS WEITER AUF KURS



Der 1. FC Saarbrücken TT gewinnt gegen Chartres ASTT auch sein drittes Gruppenspiel in der Table Tennis Champions League Men (TTCLM) deutlich und steht mit einem Bein im Viertelfinale. Auch die TTF Liebherr Ochsenhauen und Borussia Düsseldorf feiern wichtige Erfolge im Kampf um den Einzug in die K.-o.-Runde.

Tiago Apolonia

Erster Sieg überhaupt gegen Pär Gerell: Tiago Apolonia (Foto: BeLa Sportfoto)

Der 1. FC Saarbrücken TT hat mit einem klaren Auswärtserfolg gegen Chartres ASTT einen großen Schritt Richtung Viertelfinale gemacht. Im dritten Gruppenspiel der Table Tennis Champions League Men (TTBL) gewann die Mannschaft von Trainer Slobodan Grujic am Abend in Frankreich mit 3:0.

„Das war heute ein sehr wichtiger Sieg für uns“, freute sich Saarbrückens Pressesprecher Nicolas Barrois. „In der Höhe allerdings sicherlich überraschend.“ Dafür sorgte gleich zu Beginn Routinier Bojan Tokic, der dem Österreicher Robert Gardos keine Chance ließ. Eine gute Vorstellung zeigte auch der längere Zeit nicht eingesetzte Patrick Baum, der für Patrick Franziska ins Team gerückt war, gegen Romain Lorentz. Franziska wurde von Trainer Grujic nach den intensiven letzten Wochen für das anstehende Spitzenspiel gegen Ochsenhausen geschont.

Ein ganz besonderer Sieg gelang nach der Pause schließlich dem Portugiesen Tiago Apolonia, wie Barrois verriet. „Pär Gerell ist ein guter Freund von Tiago, gegen den er allerdings noch nie gewinnen konnte. Heute hat es endlich geklappt. Alles in allem eine sehr gute Mannschaftsleistung!“

Düsseldorf muss erneut zittern

Anton Källberg

Zwei Punkte gegen Roskilde: Anton Källberg (Foto: MaJo-Foto)

Deutlich schwerer als Saarbrücken hatte es an diesem Abend Vorjahres-Finalist Borussia Düsseldorf – und das obwohl dem deutschen Rekordmeister gegen Roskilde Bordtennis BTK61 aus Dänemark ein Start nach Maß gelang. Denn nach dem knappen 3:2-Sieg von Kristian Karlsson gegen den Ex-Borussen Michael Maze sorgte Anton Källberg gegen Zhai Yujia für die 2:0-Pausenführung. Allerdings konnte Stefan Fegerl nicht an die Leistungen der beiden Schweden anknüpfen und unterlag dem Niederländer Laurens Tromer in fünf Sätzen. „Der Mannschaftsieg überstrahlt meine persönliche Enttäuschung. Das macht es etwas einfacher“, so Fegerl geknickt.

Im Spitzeneinzel gegen Zhai musste sich schließlich auch Karlsson geschlagen geben. Auf Källberg war jedoch erneut Verlass: Der 20-jährige geriet gegen Maze zwar zunächst mit 1:2 in Rückstand, drehte dann jedoch auf und brachte der Borussia so den ersehnten zweiten Sieg im dritten Spiel. „Das war eine tolle Leistung von Anton“, jubelte Borussia-Trainer Danny Heister, der kurzfristig auf den kranken Timo Boll verzichten musste. „Er hat in der Schlussphase sehr gut gespielt und die Zuschauer haben ihn regelrecht zum Sieg gepeitscht.“

Gauzy macht den Unterschied

Simon Gauzy

Matchwinner gegen Wels: Simon Gauzy (Foto: Roscher)

Ebenfalls zu kämpfen hatten die TTF Liebherr Ochsenhausen gegen die SPG Walter Wels, bei denen sich sich Spitzenspieler Cho Seungmin mindestens so gefährlich präsentierte wie im Vorfeld vermutet. Nach der schnellen Führung durch Simon Gauzy sorgte der Südkoreaner gegen den wiedergenesenen Jakub Dyjas zunächst für den 1:1-Ausgleich und hatte im Spitzenzeinzel gegen Simon Gauzy auch das 2:2 auf dem Schläger. Doch die französische Nummer eins der Gastgeber konnte den Matchball abwehren und ihrerseits punkten. Zuvor hatte sich Yuto Muramatsu ebenfalls in fünf Sätzen gegen Zsolt Petö durchgesetzt.

Ochsenhausen führt seine Gruppe damit ebenso unangefochten an wie Saarbrücken, Düsseldorf springt dank des knappen Erfolgs auf Tabellenplatz zwei hinter den punktgleichen Franzosen aus Hennebont. Die Rückrunde beginnt für Ochsenhausen am 22. November, für Saarbrücken und Düsseldorf am 24. November.

Die Spiele in der Übersicht

Chartres ASTT – 1. FC Saarbrücken TT 0:3
Robert Gardos – Bojan Tokic 0:3 (11:9, 11:5, 11:4)
Romain Lorentz – Patrick Baum 1:3 (7:11, 5:11, 11:9, 7:11)
Pär Gerell – Tiago Apolonia 1:3 (11:7, 11:13, 8:11, 7:11)

Borussia Düsseldorf – Roskilde Bordtennis BTK61 3:2
Kristian Karlsson – Michael Maze 3:2 (8:11, 11:8, 11:6, 8:11, 11:5)
Anton Källberg – Zhai Yujia 3:0 (13:11, 13:11, 11:8)
Stefan Fegerl – Laurens Tromer 2:3 (11:9, 8:11, 6:11, 11:5, 8:11)
Kristian Karlsson – Zhai Yujia 1:3 (11:6, 8:11, 8:11, 11:13)
Anton Källberg – Michael Maze 3:2 (11:9, 2:11, 8:11, 11:6)

TTF Liebherr Ochsenhausen – SPG Walter Wels 3:1
Simon Gauzy – Robin Devos 3:0 (11:3, 11:8, 8:7)
Jakub Dyjas – Cho Seungmin 1:3 (11:5, 13:15, 7:11, 9:11)
Yuto Muramatsu – Zsolt Petö 3:2 (8:11, 11:8, 11:6, 9:11, 11:4)
Simon Gauzy – Cho Seungmin 3:2 (7:11, 11:4, 11:13, 11:6, 12:10)