TTCLM: DÜSSELDORF WIN THE CUP



Borussia Düsseldorf is the winner of the Champion League season 2017/18. After the narrow home win last Sunday, the German record champion around Timo Boll also prevailed in the second leg final against the Russian defending champion TTC Fakel Gazprom on Friday afternoon and celebrate the fifth title in the club's history.

The Champions League winner of the 2017/18 season is called Borussia Düsseldorf. On Friday afternoon, the German record champion won the second leg final against the Russian defending champion TTC Fakel Gazprom Orenburg 3-1. Already in the first leg last Sunday, the team around Timo Boll prevailed by 3-2. "We are extremely happy and very proud of our team," said manager Andreas Preuß. "We really deserve the cup afer we missed it quite narrowly several times. Now it was finally our turn."

Stefan Fegerl

Paved th way to success: Stefan Fegerl (Photo: Fuhrmann)

At the beginning of the match, Stefan Fegerl provided a dream start für Düsseldorf. The Austrian, who replaced Anton Källberg, impressively defeated the bronze medalist of the 2016 Olympics Jun Mizutani in four games, despite a setback in the first game. There, Fegerl saved four game points of the Japanese, before he had the chance to win the game himself, but lost it anyway soon after.

With the lead in his back, Boll stepped into to box and just as five days ago met his national team mate Dimitrij Ovtcharov, who played on second position despite his injury problems. But this time 'Dima' started strong and clearly won the first game. Boll still had problems in the second game and equalized to 1-1 only in the extension and with his third game point. Then, however, the world ranking second went into the 2-0 lead for Düsseldorf, and set the course. Because at that time it was clear that the hosts would need three clear victories and at the same time could only two more games for Düsseldorf.

Samsonov shortens

Timo Boll

Invincible again: Timo Boll (Photo: Weber)

One who took this to heart was Vladimir Samsonov. The Belarusian defeated Kristian Karlsson by 3-0 and brought Orenburg back into the match. However, Boll proved against Mizutani yet again that he can be relied on especially in the important matches: 11-5, 11-7 and the fifth title of his Borussia was perfect, the 2-0 lead against the Japanese already sufficient. After the cheering, Boll drew the final stroke under the match a little later. "We waited seven years for this title. And of course, it always bugged me when we lost in the final," said the 37-year-old. "Everything was just right this year. Orenburg was weakened a bit and we took advantage of the moment."

The joy was also huge for Stefan Fegerl, who will leave Düsseldorf in the summer and play for Ochsenhausen. With his victory point against his future club in the second leg semi-final and the important break today, he had made Düsseldorf's success possible in the first place. "This is my first Champions League victory. It's fantastic to be part of this team. That's the highlight of my career."

Triple possible

However, Düsseldorf does not have much time to celebrate their triumph. Already at 4 o'clock local time (1 o'clock in Germany), the team of coach Danny Heister starts the journey back home in order to prepare for the Liebherr TTBL-Finale for the German Team Championship. On 26 May, Düsseldorf has the chance to win the triple consisting of the national cup, the German Championship and the Champions League in a duel with the TTF Liebherr Ochsenhausen.

The final at a glance

Sunday, May 13, 1 pm
Borussia Düsseldorf – TTC Fakel Gazprom 3-2
Timo Boll – Dimitrij Ovtcharov 3-1 (11-7, 11-8, 10-12, 11-6)
Kristian Karlsson – Jun Mizutani 2-3 (8-11, 11-8, 10-12, 11-9, 12-14)
Anton Källberg – Vladimir Samsonov 1-3 (6-11, 3-11, 11-7, 6-11)
Timo Boll – Jun Mizutani 3-1 (13-11, 11-8, 5-11, 11-3)
Kristian Karlsson – Dimitrij Ovtcharov 3-0 (11-8, 11-4, 11-8)

Friday, May 18, 3 pm
TTC Fakel Gazprom – Borussia Düsseldorf 1-3
Jun Mizutani – Stefan Fegerl 1-3 (13-11, 8-11, 9-11, 11-13)
Dimitrij Ovtcharov – Timo Boll 1-3 (11-7, 11-13, 8-11, 7-11)
Vladimir Samsonov – Kristian Karlsson 3-0 (11-7, 11-7, 11-9)
Jun Mizutani – Timo Boll 0-3 (5-11, 7-11, 7-11)

Header photo: BeLa Sportfoto

TTCLM: DÜSSELDORF HOLT DEN TITEL



Borussia Düsseldorf ist Champions-League-Sieger. Nach dem knappen Heimerfolg am vergangenen Sonntag entscheidet der deutsche Rekordmeister um Timo Boll am Freitagnachmittag auch das Final-Rückspiel gegen den russischen Titelverteidiger TTC Fakel Gazprom für sich und bejubelt den fünften Titelgewinn der Vereinsgeschichte.

Der Champions-League-Sieger der Saison 2017/18 heißt Borussia Düsseldorf. Der deutsche Rekordmeister gewann das Final-Rückspiel beim russischen Titelverteidiger TTC Fakel Gazprom Orenburg am Freitagnachmittag mit 3:1. Bereits das Hinspiel am vergangenen Sonntag hatte die Mannschaft um Timo Boll mit 3:2 für sich entscheiden können. „Wir sind überglücklich und mächtig stolz auf unsere Truppe“, freute sich Manager Andreas Preuß. „Wir haben uns den Cup wirklich verdient, sind in den letzten Jahren zum Teil nur sehr knapp gescheitert. Jetzt waren wir einfach mal dran.“ 

Stefan Fegerl

Wegbereiter des Erfolgs: Stefan Fegerl (Foto: Fuhrmann)

Für einen Traumstart sorgte zu Beginn der Partie Stefan Fegerl. Der Österreicher, der den im Hinspiel erfolglosen Anton Källberg ersetzte, rang in beeindruckender Manier den Bronzemedaillengewinner der Olympischen Spiele 2016 Jun Mizutani in vier Sätzen nieder – und das trotz eines Rückschlags im ersten Durchgang. Dort hatte Fegerl zunächst vier Satzbälle des Japaners abwehren können, ehe er selbst die Chance zum Satzgewinn hatte, wenig später aber dennoch das Nachsehen hatte.

Mit der Führung im Rücken stieg anschließend Boll in die Box und traf wie bereits vor fünf Tagen auf seinen Nationalmannschaftskollegen Dimitrij Ovtcharov, den Orenburg trotz seiner Verletzungsprobleme erneut an Position zwei aufgestellt hatte. Doch diesmal begann ‚Dima‘ stark und gewann den ersten Durchgang klar. Auch in der Folge hatte Boll Probleme und glich erst in der Verlängerung und mit seinem dritten Satzball zum 1:1 aus. Dann jedoch marschierte der Weltranglisten-Zweite zur 2:0-Führung, die das Tor zum Titel bereit weit aufstieß. Denn zu diesem Zeitpunkt war klar, dass die Gastgeber drei deutliche Siege benötigen würden, gleichzeitig aber kaum noch einen Satzgewinn zulassen dürfen.

Samsonov verkürzt

Timo Boll

Erneut nicht zu schlagen: Timo Boll (Foto: Weber)

Einer, der sich das zu Herzen nahm, war Routinier Vladimir Samsonov. Denn der Weißrusse bezwang Kristian Karlsson tatsächlich mit 3:0 und brachte Orenburg damit wieder zurück in Spiel. Anschließend bewies Boll dann gegen Mizutani jedoch einmal mehr, dass auf ihn vor allem in den ganz wichtigen Spielen Verlass ist: 11:5, 11:7 und der fünfte Titelgewinn seiner Borussia war perfekt, die 2:0-Satzführung bereits ausreichend. Nach dem ausgelassenen Jubel zog Boll wenig später den Schlussstrich unter die Partie. „Wir haben sieben Jahre auf diesen Titel gewartet. Und natürlich hat es mich immer gefuchst, wenn wir im Finale verloren haben“, so der 37-Jährige. „In diesem Jahr hat einfach alles gepasst. Orenburg hat etwas geschwächelt und wir haben den Moment genutzt.“

Riesengroß war die Freude auch bei Stefan Fegerl, der Düsseldorf im Sommer verlassen und für Ochsenhausen aufschlagen wird. Mit seinem Siegpunkt gegen seinen zukünftigen Klub im Halbfinal-Rückspiel und dem wichtigen Break heute hatte er Düsseldorfs Erfolg überhaupt erst möglich gemacht. „Das ist mein erster Champions-League-Sieg. Es ist fantastisch, Teil dieser Mannschaft sein zu dürfen. Das ist für mich das Highlight meiner Karriere.“

Triple möglich

Viel Zeit, ihren Triumph zu feiern, bleibt Düsseldorf allerdings nicht. Schon um 4 Uhr Ortszeit (1 Uhr deutscher Zeit) tritt die Mannschaft von Trainer Danny Heister die Rückreise an, um sich in Düsseldorf auf das Liebherr TTBL-Finale um die Deutsche Mannschaftsmeisterschaft vorzubereiten. Dort hat Düsseldorf am 26. Mai im Duell mit den TTF Liebherr Ochsenhausen die Chance auf das Triple aus Pokalsieg, Meisterschaft und Champions-League-Triumph.

Das Finale in der Übersicht

Sonntag, 13. Mai, 13 Uhr
Borussia Düsseldorf – TTC Fakel Gazprom 3:2

Timo Boll – Dimitrij Ovtcharov 3:1 (11:7, 11:8, 10:12, 11:6)
Kristian Karlsson – Jun Mizutani 2:3 (8:11, 11:8, 10:12, 11:9, 12:14)
Anton Källberg – Vladimir Samsonov 1:3 (6:11, 3:11, 11:7, 6:11)
Timo Boll – Jun Mizutani 3:1 (13:11, 11:8, 5:11, 11:3)
Kristian Karlsson – Dimitrij Ovtcharov 3:0 (11:8, 11:4, 11:8)

Freitag, 18. Mai, 15 Uhr
TTC Fakel Gazprom – Borussia Düsseldorf 1:3

Jun Mizutani – Stefan Fegerl 1:3 (13:11, 8:11, 9:11, 11:13)
Dimitrij Ovtcharov – Timo Boll 1:3 (11:7, 11:13, 8:11, 7:11)
Vladimir Samsonov – Kristian Karlsson 3:0 (11:7, 11:7, 11:9)
Jun Mizutani – Timo Boll 0:3 (5:11, 7:11, 7:11)

Beitragsbild oben: BeLa Sportfoto