TTCLM: DÜSSELDORF OPTIMISTIC, BUT WARNED



In the second leg final of the Table Tennis Champions League Men (TTCLM), Borussia Dusseldorf is a guest of TTC Fakel Gazprom on Friday afternoon. There, the German record champion around Timo Boll has good chances to win the title after the 3-2 win in the first leg, but travels to Russia with a lot of respect.

Danny Heister

Doesn't feel too secure: Danny Heister (Photo: BeLa Sportfoto)

The memory is still fresh. "Three years ago we flew to Russia with a 3-1 win at home and came back empty-handed. We do not want to experience that again," warns Danny Heister, head coach of Borussia Düsseldorf. The Dutchman knows only too well how deceptive a victory in the first leg can be. On Tuesday, Heister and his team headed to Russia for the second leg final of the Table Tennis Champions League Men (TTCLM), where Düsseldorf will be a guest of TTC Fakel Gazprom on Friday at 3 pm – this time with a narrower lead than three years ago.

Timo Boll's team won last Sunday's first leg 3-2 thanks to two points of their number one in the ARAG CenterCourt. The games ratio of 12-8 too speaks for the Germans before the second duel with the Russian defending champion. Nevertheless, manager Andreas Preuß warns against too much euphoria. "I am optimistic, the table is set, but we are still far from the goal."

How far exactly, will also depend on Dimitrij Ovtcharov, who in the first leg was just a shadow of himself, as he said himself afterwards. Against his friend and national team mate Boll, with whom he became runner-up at the World Championships in Sweden lately, the world's number two won only one game, in the decisive singles against Kristian Karlsson even none. Too big was the training deficit after his injury to the thigh neck.

However, Orenburg is not completely dependent on Ovtcharov. Behind 'Dima' there's the Olympic bronze medalist Jun Mizutani from Japan and the living table tennis legend Vladimir Samsonov from Belarus, after all. The latter for example clearly beat Düsseldorf's Anton Källberg in the first leg. "I expect a completely open match, because Orenburg has always been incredibly strong at home in the past, so I assume that they will increase once again," said Preuß - who will surely hope, just like coach Heister, that this will not happen again.

The match is broadcast live on LAOLA1.tv.

The final at a glance

Sunday, May 13, 1 pm
Borussia Düsseldorf – TTC Fakel Gazprom 3-2 (12:8 games)

Friday, May 18, 3 pm
TTC Fakel Gazprom – Borussia Düsseldorf

Header photo: MaJo-Foto

TTCLM: DÜSSELDORF OPTIMISTISCH, ABER GEWARNT



Im Final-Rückspiel der Table Tennis Champions League Men (TTCLM) ist Borussia Düsseldorf am Freitagnachmittag deutscher Zeit beim heimstarken TTC Fakel Gazprom zu Gast. Dort hat der deutsche Rekordmeister um Timo Boll nach dem 3:2-Erfolg im Hinspiel gute Chancen, den Titel zu gewinnen, reist jedoch mit einer Menge Respekt nach Russland.

Danny Heister

Weiß, wie schnell es gehen kann: Danny Heister (Foto: BeLa Sportfoto)

Die Erinnerung ist noch frisch. „Vor drei Jahren sind wir mit einem 3:1-Sieg im Rücken nach Russland geflogen und mit leeren Händen nach Hause gekommen. Das möchten wir nicht noch einmal erleben“, mahnt Danny Heister, Cheftrainer von Borussia Düsseldorf. Der Niederländer weiß nur zu gut, wie trügerisch ein Sieg im Hinspiel sein kann. Bereits am Dienstag brachen Heister und seine Mannschaft zum Final-Rückspiel der Table Tennis Champions League Men (TTCLM) nach Russland auf, wo Düsseldorf am Freitag um 15 Uhr deutscher Zeit beim TTC Fakel Gazprom zu Gast ist – diesmal mit einem knapperen Vorsprung als vor drei Jahren.

Das Hinspiel am vergangenen Sonntag gewann die Mannschaft um Timo Boll dank zweier Punkte ihrer Nummer eins im heimischen ARAG CenterCourt mit 3:2. Auch das Satzverhältnis von 12:8 spricht vor dem zweiten Duell mit dem russischen Titelverteidiger für die Rheinländer. Dennoch warnt Manager Andreas Preuß vor zu viel Euphorie. „Ich bin optimistisch, der Tisch ist gedeckt, trotzdem sind wir noch weit vom Ziel entfernt.“

Wie weit genau, wird am Freitag auch von Dimitrij Ovtcharov abhängen, der im Hinspiel nach eigener Aussage lediglich ein Schatten seiner selbst war. Gegen seinen Freund und Nationalmannschaftskollegen Boll, mit dem er in Schweden gemeinsam Vize-Weltmeister wurde, gewann der Weltranglisten-Zweite nur einen Satz, im Entscheidungseinzel gegen Kristian Karlsson ging er gar leer aus. Zu groß war der Trainingsrückstand nach seiner langwierigen Verletzung am Oberschenkelhals.

Völlig abhängig ist Orenburg von Ovtcharov freilich nicht. Immerhin schlagen hinter ‚Dima‘ der Olympia-Dritte Jun Mizutani aus Japan sowie die lebende Tischtennis-Legende Vladimir Samsonov aus Weißrussland auf. Letzterer etwa wies im Hinspiel Düsseldorfs Anton Källberg deutlich in die Schranken. „Ich erwarte ein völlig offenes Spiel, denn Orenburg war in der Vergangenheit immer unglaublich heimstark, so dass ich davon ausgehe, dass sie sich auch jetzt noch einmal steigern werden“, so Preuß – der sicherlich ebenso wie Trainer Heister hoffen wird, dass genau das nicht erneut passiert.

Einen Livestream der Partie finden Sie auf LAOLA1.tv.

Das Finale in der Übersicht

Sonntag, 13. Mai, 13 Uhr
Borussia Düsseldorf – TTC Fakel Gazprom 3:2 (12:8 Sätze)

Freitag, 18. Mai, 15 Uhr
TTC Fakel Gazprom – Borussia Düsseldorf

Beitragsbild oben: MaJo-Foto