TTCLM: SAARBRÜCKEN SECURE TOP SPOT



1. FC Saarbrücken TT moves into the quarter-finals of the Table Tennis Champions League (Men) as group winner. In the final group match, Saarbrücken does not show any weakness against the second string of the French representative Chartres ASTT.

Bojan Tokic

Extended the lead to 2-0: Bojan Tokic (Photo: Höfer)

After a clear 3-0 victory over Chartres ASTT, 1. FC Saarbrücken TT move to quarter-finals of the Table Tennis Champions League (Men) as group winner and thus avoid allegedly strong teams first. Until this fact was confirmed, it took less than two hours in the Joachim-Deckarm-Hall in Saarbrücken on Wednesday evening.

The French guests – already eliminated before the match, but at the same time qualified for the ETTU Cup – relinquished their top players Pär Gerell and Robert Gardos in Saarbrücken and instead relied on home-grown youth players. At the start of the match, Alexandre Robinot (22) met Saarbrücken's Patrick Baum and forced the German international into the fifth game, in which Baum narrowly prevailed. "We had to fight our way into the match, but did well," said Patrick Franziska, who had followed the match from the bench as a substitute player.

After that, it was significantly less effort for Baum's teammates Bojan Tokic and Tiago Apolonia. Tokic allowed Romain Lorentz (24) only a total of twelve points, Apolonia solved his task against the only 16-year-old Vincent Picard similarly commanding. "We are happy to have become group winners. That makes it easier to go into the Christmas break. We will surely enjoy a glass of water or two tonight," revealed Franziska.

Due to the straight win of Saarbrücken, TTSC UMMC's parallel victory had no consequences for the Germans. The Russians around the former Grenzau player Andrej Gacina narrowly defeated Eslövs Ai Bordtennis from Sweden 3-2 and move to the knockout round in second spot of the group. The draw of the quarter-finals will take place on Friday at 1 pm in Luxembourg.

Match overview

1. FC Saarbrücken TT – Chartres ASTT 3-0
Patrick Baum – Alexandre Robinot 3-2 (5-11, 11-1, 7-11, 11-8, 11-9)
Bojan Tokic – Romain Lorentz 3-0 (11-2, 11-5, 11-5)
Tiago Apolonia – Vincent Picard 3-0 (11-4, 11-8, 11-6)

TTCLM: SAARBRÜCKEN HOLT GRUPPENSIEG



Der 1. FC Saarbrücken TT zieht als Gruppensieger ins Viertelfinale der Table Tennis Champions League (Men) ein. Im abschließenden Gruppenspiel geben sich die Saarländer gegen die zweite Garde des französischen Vertreters Chartres ASTT keine Blöße.

Bojan Tokic

Sorgte für die 2:0-Pausenführung: Bojan Tokic (Foto: Höfer)

Der 1. FC Saarbrücken TT steht nach einem klaren 3:0-Erfolg gegen Chartres ASTT als Gruppenerster im Viertelfinale der Table Tennis Champions League (Men) und geht damit in der K.-o.-Runde den vermeintlich schweren Gegnern zunächst aus dem Weg. Bis diese Tatsache feststand, dauerte es in der Saarbrücker Joachim-Deckarm-Halle am Mittwochabend keine zwei Stunden.

Die französischen Gäste – bereits vor der Partie als Gruppendritter ausgeschieden, gleichzeitig jedoch sicher für den ETTU Cup qualifiziert – verzichteten in Saarbrücken auf ihre Spitzenspieler Pär Gerell und Robert Gardos und setzten stattdessen auf einheimische Jugendspieler. So traf zum Auftakt der flinke Alexandre Robinot (22) auf Saarbrückens Patrick Baum und zwang den deutschen Nationalspieler in den fünften Satz, in dem jedoch Baum knapp die Oberhand behielt. „Wir haben uns gut reingebissen“, fand Patrick Franziska, der die Partie als Ersatzspieler von der Bank aus verfolgte.

Deutlich weniger Mühe hatten anschließend Baums Teamkollegen Bojan Tokic und Tiago Apolonia. Tokic ließ gegen Romain Lorentz (24) ingesamt nur zwölf Punkte zu, Apolonia löste seine Aufgabe gegen den erst 16 Jahre alten Vincent Picard ähnlich souverän. „Wir sind froh, Gruppensieger geworden zu sein. Das macht es einfacher, in die Weihnachtspause zu gehen. Das ein oder andere Wässerchen wird heute Abend sicherlich getrunken“, verriet anschließend Franziska.

Durch den Saarbrücker Erfolg bleibt der gleichzeitige Sieg des punktgleichen Verfolgers TTSC UMMC im Parallelspiel ohne Bedeutung. Die Russen um den ehemaligen Grenzauer Andrej Gacina bezwangen Eslövs Ai Bordtennis aus Schweden knapp mit 3:2 und ziehen als Gruppenzweiter in die K.-o.-Runde ein. Die Auslosung der Viertelfinal-Begegnungen findet am Freitag ab 13 Uhr in Luxemburg statt.

Das Spiel in der Übersicht

1. FC Saarbrücken TT – Chartres ASTT 3:0
Patrick Baum – Alexandre Robinot 3:2 (5:11, 11:1, 7:11, 11:8, 11:9)
Bojan Tokic – Romain Lorentz 3:0 (11:2, 11:5, 11:5)
Tiago Apolonia – Vincent Picard 3:0 (11:4, 11:8, 11:6)