TTCLM: CHAMPIONS DÜSSELDORF TOP SEED



The European Table Tennis Union ETTU has published the seeding list for the new season in the Table Tennis Champions League Men (TTCLM). Defending champion Borussia Düsseldorf enter the competition as top seed just ahead of Fakel Gazprom Orenburg. In addition, 1. FC Saarbrücken TT (4th) and German novice Post SV Mühlhausen (10th) recieved a spot among the 16 best teams in Europe as well.

Triple winner Borussia Düsseldorf are the top seed for the 2018/19 season of the Table Tennis Champions League (Men). This results from the seeding list published by the European Table Tennis Union (ETTU) on Thursday, after the deadline for applications for the European competitions expired on June 21. Defending champion Düsseldorf around topstar Timo Boll are in the top spot with a total of 37,121 points, followed by finalist Fakel Gazprom Orenburg (36,775 points). In last season's final, Düsseldorf prevailed against the Russian team of Dimitrij Ovtcharov both in the first (3-2) and in the second leg (3-1) and so for the fifth time in the club's history took the European crown.

Behind Orenburg, the TTSC UMMC is the second Russian club to enter the competition (28,001 points). 1. FC Saarbrücken TT, who lost to their Bundesliga competitor TTF Liebherr Ochsenhausen in last year's quarter-final, is ranked fourth (24.063 points). Ochsenhausen however – just as announced earlier – refrain from a participation in the Champions League next season. As a reason TTF president Kristijan Pejinovic recently named the changes in personnel and the "immense additional burden" of his players on the international stage.

Mühlhausen make their debut

Daniel Habesohn

About to enter the Champions League with Mühlhausen: Daniel Habesohn (Photo: Habel)

But still, a third club from the Tischtennis Bundesliga (TTBL) is represented internationally in the upcoming season. For the first time, Post SV Mühlhausen dares the adventure of the Champions League. In their debut season, the Thuringians, who have reinforced with Steffen Mengel, are ranked in tenth place (18.477 points). The last team that made it into the top 16 is the Swedish representative Eslövs AI BTK.

The order of the seeding list is calculated by adding the world ranking points of the three highest ranked players of each team, including only one player from a non-European country. In addition, there is a restriction of a maximum of four teams from one national association among the top 16. For this reason, Chartres ASTT only starts in the ETTU Cup, as they are the lowest ranking French team in the upcoming season. Ultimately, the seeding is important for the draw of the group stage, which takes place in Saarbrücken on 6 July where the four best teams are set in the top position of the groups. The ETTU will broadcast the draw live at 2 pm.

The seeding list at a glance

1. Borussia Düsseldorf (GER) 37.121 points
2. Fakel Gazprom Orenburg (RUS) 36.775
3. TTSC UMMC (RUS) 28.001
4. 1. FC Saarbrücken TT (GER) 24.063
5. KS Dartom Bogoria Grodzisk Mazowiecki (POL) 21.903
6. AS Pontoise Cergy TT (FRA) 21.871
7. GV Hennebont TT (FRA) 20.298
8. K.S. Dekorglass Dzialdowo (POL) 19.760
9. Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR) 18.726
10. Post SV Mühlhausen (GER) 18.477
11. VS Angers TT (FRA) 15.850
12. Stella Sport La Romagne (FRA) 12.625
13. TTC Ostrava 2016 (CZE) 11.323
14. Roskilde Bordtennis BTK 61 (DEN) 9.648
15. SPG Walter Wels (AUT) 9.577
16. Eslövs AI BTK (SWE) 8.845

Header photo: BeLa Sportfoto

TTCLM: TITELVERTEIDIGER DÜSSELDORF TOPGESETZT



Der Europäische Tischtennis-Verband ETTU hat die Setzungsliste für die neue Saison in der Table Tennis Champions League Men (TTCLM) veröffentlicht. Darin liegt Titelverteidiger Borussia Düsseldorf vor Fakel Gazprom Orenburg auf Rang eins. Neben dem 1. FC Saarbrücken TT (4.) gelang auch dem deutschen Debütanten Post SV Mühlhausen (10.) der Sprung unter die 16 besten Mannschaften Europas.

Triple-Gewinner Borussia Düsseldorf geht als topgesetzte Mannschaft in die Saison 2018/19 der Table Tennis Champions League (Men). Das geht aus der Setzungsliste hervor, die der Europäische Tischtennis-Verband ETTU am gestrigen Donnerstag veröffentlichte, nachdem die Bewerbungsfrist für die europäischen Wettbewerbe am 21. Juni abgelaufen war. Demnach belegt der Titelverteidiger um Topstar Timo Boll mit insgesamt 37.121 Punkten vor Finalist Fakel Gazprom Orenburg (36.775 Punkte) die Spitzenposition. Im Endspiel Mitte Mai hatte Düsseldorf gegen das russische Team um Dimitrij Ovtcharov sowohl im Hin- (3:2) als auch im Rückspiel (3:1) die Oberhand behalten und sich so zum fünften Mal in der der Vereinsgeschichte die europäische Krone aufgesetzt.

Hinter Orenburg geht mit dem TTSC UMMC der zweite russische Verein ins Rennen (28.001 Punkte). Für das Team aus Jekaterinburg schlägt in der kommenden Saison der Däne Jonathan Groth auf, der zuletzt für Fulda aktiv war. Dahinter folgt auf Rang vier der 1. FC Saarbrücken TT (24.063 Punkte), der in der Vorsaison im Viertelfinale am Bundesliga-Konkurrenten TTF Liebherr Ochsenhausen gescheitert war. Die Oberschwaben hingegen verzichteten wie bereits angekündigt auf eine Teilnahme in der Königsklasse. Als Grund nannte TTF-Präsident Kristijan Pejinovic zuletzt die personellen Veränderungen im sportlichen Bereich sowie die „immense Mehrbelastung“ seiner Spieler auf der internationalen Bühne.

Mühlhausen erstmals dabei

Daniel Habesohn

Greift mit Mühlhausen in der Champions League an: Daniel Habesohn (Foto: Habel)

Ein dritter Verein aus der Tischtennis Bundesliga (TTBL) ist in der kommenden Saison dennoch international vertreten. Erstmals wagt der Post SV Mühlhausen das Abenteuer Königsklasse. In ihrer Premierensaison sind die Thüringer, die sich mit Steffen Mengel verstärkt haben, an Position zehn gesetzt (18.477 Punkte). Als letzte Mannschaft gelang dem schwedischen Vertreter Eslövs AI BTK der Sprung unter die besten 16.

Die Reihenfolge der Setzungsliste berechnet die ETTU mittels Addition der Weltranglistenpunkte der drei am höchsten notierten Spieler eines jedes Teams, wobei sich darunter lediglich ein Spieler aus dem nicht-europäischen Ausland befinden darf. Zusätzlich gilt die Beschränkung auf maximal vier Teams eines nationalen Verbandes unter den besten 16. Aus diesem Grund startet Chartres ASTT als französische Mannschaft mit dem niedrigsten Punktwert in der kommenden Saison lediglich im zweitklassigen ETTU Cup. Maßgeblich ist die Setzung schließlich für die Auslosung der Gruppenphase, die am 6. Juli in Saarbrücken stattfindet. Dort sind die vier besten Mannschaften als Gruppenköpfe gesetzt. Die ETTU überträgt die Auslosung ab 14 Uhr live.

Die Setzung der TTCLM in der Übersicht

1. Borussia Düsseldorf (GER) 37.121 Punkte
2. Fakel Gazprom Orenburg (RUS) 36.775
3. TTSC UMMC (RUS) 28.001
4. 1. FC Saarbrücken TT (GER) 24.063
5. KS Dartom Bogoria Grodzisk Mazowiecki (POL) 21.903
6. AS Pontoise Cergy TT (FRA) 21.871
7. GV Hennebont TT (FRA) 20.298
8. K.S. Dekorglass Dzialdowo (POL) 19.760
9. Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR) 18.726
10. Post SV Mühlhausen (GER) 18.477
11. VS Angers TT (FRA) 15.850
12. Stella Sport La Romagne (FRA) 12.625
13. TTC Ostrava 2016 (CZE) 11.323
14. Roskilde Bordtennis BTK 61 (DEN) 9.648
15. SPG Walter Wels (AUT) 9.577
16. Eslövs AI BTK (SWE) 8.845

Beitragsbild oben: BeLa Sportfoto