TTCLM: GREAT DRAW FÜR MÜHLHAUSEN



The draw for the group stage of the Table Tennis Champions League Men (TTCLM) took place on Friday afternoon in Saarbrücken. Debutant Post SV Mühlhausen can look forward to meeting Orenburg's star ensemble led by Dimitrij Ovtcharov, defending champion Borussia Düsseldorf faces the 2016 champion. 1. FC Saarbrücken TT picks a strong Polish opponent.

In their first season in the Table Tennis Champions League Men (TTCLM), Post SV Mühlhausen has caught an attractive draw. In Group D, the Thuringians will meet the multiple Russian title winner Fakel Gazprom Orenburg, the French representative GV Hennebont TT and the finalist of 2016 Eslövs AI BTK from Sweden. This is the result of the draw held by the European Table Tennis Union ETTU in Saarbrücken on Friday afternoon.

And so the team of coach Erik Schreyer will play stars like Dimitrij Ovtcharov and Vladimir Samsonov (Orenburg), Liam Pirchford (Hennebont) and Xu Hui (Eslöv). This week, Mühlhausen's manager Thomas Stecher has already emphasized the enormous anticipation of his club – which should now have risen again in view of the draw.

Timo Boll

Mission titel defence: Timo Boll (Photo: MaJo-Foto)

In Group A, defending champion Borussia Düsseldorf will face Kristian Karlsson's ex-club AS Pontoise Cergy TT of France and thus the 2016 champion. Other opponents of the triple winner around Timo Boll are Sporting Clube de Portugal – last season's semi-finalist – and TTC Ostrava 2016 from the Czech Republic led by experienced Petr Korbel.

Saarbrücken against former TTBL stars

1. FC Saarbrücken TT, being set as head of the group C, will face KS Dartom Bogoria Grodzisk Mazowiecki from Poland, VS Angers TT from France and Roskilde Bordtennis BTK 61 from Denmark. Especially Bogoria around the experienced former Düsseldorf player Panagiotis Gionis and the former Grenzau player Masaki Yoshida should turn out to be a tough opponent.

The first matchday of the new season is scheduled for September 26/27/28, the quarter-finalist will be set in early December at the latest. Further information about the Champions League can be found on the website of the ETTU.

The groups at a glance

Group A
Borussia Düsseldorf (GER)
AS Pontoise Cergy TT (FRA)
Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR)
TTC Ostrava 2016 (CZE)

Group B
TTSC UMMC (RUS)
K.S. Dekorglass Dzialdowo (POL)
Stella Sport La Romagne (FRA)
SPG Walter Wels (AUT)

Group C
1. FC Saarbrücken TT (GER)
KS Dartom Bogoria Grodzisk Mazowiecki (POL)
VS Angers TT (FRA)
Roskilde Bordtennis BTK 61 (DEN)

Group D
Fakel Gazprom Orenburg (RUS)
GV Hennebont TT (FRA)
Post SV Mühlhausen (GER)
Eslövs AI BTK (SWE)

Header photo: Habel

TTCLM: TRAUMLOS FÜR MÜHLHAUSEN



In Saarbrücken fand am Freitagnachmittag die Auslosung der Gruppenphase der Table Tennis Champions League Men (TTCLM) statt. Debütant Post SV Mühlhausen darf sich auf Orenburgs Starensemble um Dimitrij Ovtcharov freuen, Titelverteidiger Borussia Düsseldorf bekommt es mit dem Champion von 2016 zu tun. Der 1. FC Saarbrücken TT erwischt einen starken polnischen Gegner.

In seiner ersten Saison in der Table Tennis Champions League Men (TTCLM) hat der Post SV Mühlhausen ein attraktives Los erwischt. Die Thüringer treffen in Gruppe D auf den mehrfachen russischen Titelgewinner Fakel Gazprom Orenburg, den französischen Vertreter GV Hennebont TT und den Finalisten von 2016 Eslövs AI BTK aus Schweden. Das ergab die Auslosung durch den Europäischen Tischtennis-Verband ETTU, die am Freitagnachmittag in Saarbrücken stattfand.

Damit kommt es für die Mannschaft von Trainer Erik Schreyer zu reizvollen Duellen mit Stars wie Dimitrij Ovtcharov und Vladimir Samsonov (Orenburg), Liam Pirchford (Hennebont) und Xu Hui (Eslöv). Unter der Woche hatte Mühlhausens Manager Thomas Stecher bereits die enorme Vorfreude seines Vereins betont. Die dürfte nun angesichts der Auslosung noch einmal gestiegen sein.

Timo Boll

Mission Titelverteidigung: Timo Boll (Foto: MaJo-Foto)

In Gruppe A trifft Titelverteidiger Borussia Düsseldorf, vor Orenburg an Position eins gesetzt, unter anderem auf Kristian Karlssons Ex-Klub AS Pontoise Cergy TT aus Frankreich und damit auf den Champion von 2016. Die weiteren Gegner des Triple-Gewinners um Topstar Timo Boll sind Sporting Clube de Portugal – in der Vorsaison als Debütant erst im Halbfinale gescheitert – und der TTC Ostrava 2016 aus Tschechien um Altmeister Petr Korbel.

Saarbrücken gegen ehemalige TTBL-Stars

Der 1. FC Saarbrücken TT, als viertbeste Mannschaft ebenso wie Düsseldorf als Gruppenkopf gesetzt, bekommt es in Gruppe C mit KS Dartom Bogoria Grodzisk Mazowiecki aus Polen, VS Angers TT aus Frankreich und Roskilde Bordtennis BTK 61 aus Dänemark zu tun. Besonders Bogoria um den erfahrenen Ex-Düsseldorfer Panagiotis Gionis und den ehemaligen Grenzauer Masaki Yoshida dürfte sich dabei als harter Gegner erweisen. Für Angers schlägt unter anderem Joao Geraldo auf, der zuletzt mit Ochsenhausen Vizemeister wurde, für Roskilde ist Dänemarks Superstar Michael Maze aktiv.

Der erste Spieltag der neuen Saison ist für den 26./27./28. September angesetzt, die Viertelfinal-Teilnehmer stehen spätestens Anfang Dezember fest. Weitere Informationen rund um die Champions League finden Sie auf den Seiten der ETTU (engl.).

Die Gruppen in der Übersicht

Gruppe A
Borussia Düsseldorf (GER)
AS Pontoise Cergy TT (FRA)
Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR)
TTC Ostrava 2016 (CZE)

Gruppe B
TTSC UMMC (RUS)
K.S. Dekorglass Dzialdowo (POL)
Stella Sport La Romagne (FRA)
SPG Walter Wels (AUT)

Gruppe C
1. FC Saarbrücken TT (GER)
KS Dartom Bogoria Grodzisk Mazowiecki (POL)
VS Angers TT (FRA)
Roskilde Bordtennis BTK 61 (DEN)

Gruppe D
Fakel Gazprom Orenburg (RUS)
GV Hennebont TT (FRA)
Post SV Mühlhausen (GER)
Eslövs AI BTK (SWE)

Beitragsbild oben: Habel