UTT: GNANASEKARAN TAKES THE TITLE



Grünwettersbach's new signing Sathiyan Gnanasekaran won the second edition of the Indian professional league 'Ultimate Table Tennis' with his team last Sunday. In the final, his Dabang Smashers T.T.C. prevailed 11-7 against the Falcons TTC. Bergneustadt's Alvaro Robles takes the second place.

Sathiyan Gnanasekaran

Won the UTT trophy for the first time: Sathiyan Gnanasekaran (Photo: Ultimate Table Tennis)

With duel between the Dabang Smashers T.T.C. and the Falcons TTC, the second season of the Indian professional league 'Ultimate Table Tennis', which was held for the first time last year, has come to an end. On Sunday, the Smashers around their captain Sathiyan Gnanasekaran, who signed with ASV Grünwettersbach for the new season, secured the title in a thrilling final. The team of the 25-year-old Indian prevailed 11-7 and earned a prize money of total 126,000 Euro converted.

Already in the main round, consisting of five matches for the six mixed teams each, Gnanasekaran and Co. had proven superior and qualified for the semi-finals as leader of the table. In the first semi-final, the Smashers met Maharashtra United who qualified for the semi-final as the fourth team and looked like a sure winner just before the end of the match.

In the penultimate single, Düsseldorf's Swede Kristian Karlsson gave Maharashtra a 3-0 win over Gnanasekaran to take the overall lead of 10-8. But the Puerto Rican Adriana Diaz eventually caused the tight 11-10 success of the Smashers with a three-set victory against Madhurika Patkar. Also the second semi-final, in which the Falcons of Bergneustadts Alvaro Robles faced the RP-SG-Mavericks of the German national Sabine Winter and the former Grenzau player Kou Lei, was decided only in the last singles.

Gnanasekaran matchwinner

In the final, however, Gnanasekaran seemed to have recovered well from the clear semi-final defeat against Karlsson, adding a total of four points to his Smashers' triumph. First, the ASV player won at the side of the Japanese Sakura Mori in mixed doubles against Sanil Shetty and Bernadette Szöcs 2-1 and finally scored the deciding point against Robles (2-1).

Less successful than Gnanasekaran and Robles was Simon Gauzy's first involvement in India's new league. After mixed personal performances and only one team success, Ochsenhausen's Frenchman missed the semi-finals with the Empowerij Challengers clearly, ranking sixth in the table. India's top star Kamal Achanta was not granted to enter the round of the top four teams either. With the Warriors T.T.C., the Düsseldorf player ended up only in fifth place after the main round.

To UTT's official website with detailed results of the season.

The final at a glance

Dabang Smashers T.T.C. – Falcons TTC 11-7
Manika Batra – Matilda Ekholm 3-0 (11-8, 11-10, 11-9)
Masaki Yoshida – Sanin Shetty 2-1 (11-8, 11-8, 10-11)
Sathiyan Gnanasekaran/Sakura Mori – Sanil Shetty/Bernadette Szöcs 2-1 (11-6, 11-7, 3-11)
Cedric Nuytinck – Liam Pitchford 1-2 (9-11, 11-5, 7-11)
Adriana Diaz – Bernadette Szöcs 1-2 (5-11, 9-11, 11-6)
Sathiyan GnanasekaranAlvaro Robles 2-1 (11-6, 9-11, 11-8)

Header photo: Ultimate Table Tennis

UTT: GNANASEKARAN HOLT DEN TITEL



Grünwettersbachs Neuzugang Sathiyan Gnanasekaran gewann am gestrigen Sonntag mit seiner Mannschaft die zweite Auflage der indischen Profiliga ‚Ultimate Table Tennis‘. Das Endspiel in Kalkutta entschieden seine Dabang Smashers T.T.C. mit einem 11:7-Erfolg gegen die Falcons TTC für sich. Bergneustadts Alvaro Robles bleibt damit nur der zweite Platz.

Sathiyan Gnanasekaran

Gewann erstmals den UTT-Titel: Sathiyan Gnanasekaran (Foto: Ultimate Table Tennis)

Mit einem Duell zwischen den Dabang Smashers T.T.C. und den Falcons TTC ist am gestrigen Sonntag die zweite Saison der im letzten Jahr erstmals ausgetragenen indischen Profiliga ‚Ultimate Table Tennis‘ zu Ende gegangen. Den Titel sicherten sich in einem spannenden Endspiel schließlich die Smashers um ihren Kapitän Sathiyan Gnanasekaran, der in der neuen Saison für den ASV Grünwettersbach aufschlägt. Im Finale behielt die Mannschaft des 25-jährigen Inders mit 11:7 die Oberhand und durfte sich so über ein Preisgeld von umgerechnet rund 126.000 Euro freuen.

Bereits die für die insgesamt sechs gemischten Teams aus je fünf Spielen bestehende Hauptrunde hatten Gnanasekaran und Co. für sich entscheiden können und sich als Tabellenführer für das Halbfinale qualifiziert. Dort entwickelten sich dann zwei regelrechte Krimis. Im ersten Halbfinale bekamen es die Smashers mit Maharashtra United zu tun, die sich als viertes Team für die Vorschlussrunde qualifiziert hatten und kurz vor dem Ende der Partie schon wie der sicherer Sieger aussahen.

Im vorletzten Einzel brachte Düsseldorfs Schwede Kristian Karlsson Maharashtra dank eines souveränen 3:0-Erfolgs gegen Gnanasekaran mit 10:8 in Führung. Doch die Puerto Ricanerin Adriana Diaz sorgte mit einem Dreisatzsieg gegen Madhurika Patkar schließlich für den knappen 11:10 Erfolg der Smashers. Auch im zweiten Halbfinale, in dem sich die Falcons um Bergneustadts Alvaro Robles und die RP-SG-Mavericks um die deutsche Nationalspielern Sabine Winter und den ehemaligen Grenzauer Kou Lei gegenüberstanden, brachte erst das Schlusseinzel die Entscheidung.

Gnanasekaran Matchwinner

Im Finale zeigte sich Gnanasekaran dann jedoch gut erholt von der klaren Halbfinal-Niederlage gegen Karlsson und steuerte insgesamt vier Punkte zum Triumph seiner Smashers bei. Der ASV-Neuzugang gewann an der Seite der Japanerin Sakura Mori zunächst im gemischten Doppel gegen Sanil Shetty und Bernadette Szöcs mit 2:1 und sorgte gegen Robles schließlich für die Entscheidung (2:1).

Weniger erfolgreich als für Gnanasekaran und Robles verlief das erste Indien-Engagement von Simon Gauzy. Nach durchwachsenen persönlichen Leistungen und lediglich einem einzigen Teamerfolg verpasste Ochsenhauens Franzose das Halbfinale mit den Empowerij Challengers als Tabellensechster deutlich. Auch Indiens Topstar Kamal Achanta war der Einzug in die Runde der besten vier Teams nicht vergönnt. Mit den Warriors T.T.C. landete der Düsseldorf-Rückkehrer nur auf Platz fünf.

Alle Spiele und Ergebnisse finden Sie auf der offiziellen UTT-Website.

Das Finale in der Übersicht

Dabang Smashers T.T.C. – Falcons TTC 11:7
Manika Batra – Matilda Ekholm 3:0 (11:8, 11:10, 11:9)
Masaki Yoshida – Sanin Shetty 2:1 (11:8, 11:8, 10:11)
Sathiyan Gnanasekaran/Sakura Mori – Sanil Shetty/Bernadette Szöcs 2:1 (11:6, 11:7, 3:11)
Cedric Nuytinck – Liam Pitchford 1:2 (9:11, 11:5, 7:11)
Adriana Diaz – Bernadette Szöcs 1:2 (5:11, 9:11, 11:6)
Sathiyan GnanasekaranAlvaro Robles 2:1 (11:6, 9:11, 11:8)

Beitragsbild oben: Ultimate Table Tennis